top of page

Queen of Hearts


Queen of Hearts

Colleen Oakes

5/5 Stars

Spoiler free review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

"As Princess of Wonderland Palace and the future Queen of Hearts, Dinah’s days are an endless monotony of tea, tarts, and a stream of vicious humiliations at the hands of her father, the King of Hearts. The only highlight of her days is visiting Wardley, her childhood best friend, the future Knave of Hearts — and the love of her life. When an enchanting stranger arrives at the Palace, Dinah watches as everything she’s ever wanted threatens to crumble. As her coronation date approaches, a series of suspicious and bloody events suggests that something sinister stirs in the whimsical halls of Wonderland. It’s up to Dinah to unravel the mysteries that lurk both inside and under the Palace before she loses her own head to a clever and faceless foe. Part epic fantasy, part twisted fairy tale, this dazzling saga will have readers shivering as Dinahs furious nature sweeps Wonderland up in the maelstrom of her wrath. Familiar characters such as Cheshire, the White Rabbit, and the Mad Hatter make their appearance, enchanting readers with this new, dark take on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland."

My Thoughts:

Things I loved in this book:

- The relationship between the characters

- All the new charcacters you never really got to see in Alice in Wonderland

- Can you tell I really, really loved the characters?

- I honestly loved that it was before Alice in wonderland and that it was all about the Queen of Hearts when she was a teenager.

- The suspense, although it also killed me! And the touches of mystery!

- The ADVENTURE!!! This story was 100% full of adventure and once you start you will not want to put it down!

- This book was practicly perfect! I loved every single thing!

Things I didn't love

- Umm, nothing!

My Review:

One thing I've seen a lot of people confused on wether this is before Alice in wonderland or if it's a retelling of Alice in wonderland. This is before Alice and Wonderland, Alice is not in this story it's all about the Queen of Hearts! I love everything about Alice in wonderland so this was a must buy for me. If you love Alice in wonderland, go pick up this book, like right now. It really hard for me to chose a favorite book of the year but so far this book or My Lady Jane are my top favorites. I loved seeing the Queen of Hearts before she was evil. It was a really unique perspective and I've never read anything like this! You also got to see so other characters from the movie come into play like the Mad Hatter and the Cheshire Cat. I loved seeing how the story played out, especially the ending even though it was a CLIFF HANGER! If you love adventure, fantasy, and a little bit of mystery, this book is for you. And even if you don't it's always nice to try a new genre! This book was wonderful from start to finish!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page